
 

Birth Certificate Application 
The information requested on this application is required by Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 7 

and Minnesota Rules, part 4601.2600. If you do not complete all fields, the application may be returned. 

 
Birth Record Information 
First Name Middle Name Last Name 

Date of Birth ☐Male ☐Female City and County of Birth 

Mother’s First Name Middle Name Maiden Name 

Father’s First Name Middle Name Last Name 

 

Requester Information 
Name Date of Birth 

Mailing Address – Street Apt/Unit # City State ZIP 

Daytime Phone Email 

 

What is your relationship to the subject of the record (tangible interest)? You must check one. 
 

☐I am the subject of the record ☐I am the child of the subject ☐I am the spouse of the subject 

☐I am the parent ☐I am the grandparent of the subject ☐I am the grandchild of the subject 

☐I am the party responsible for filing the birth record 

☐I am the legal custodian, guardian or conservator of the subject (you must include a certified copy of a court order showing this 

relationship) 

☐I am the health care agent of the subject (you must include the health care agent power of attorney) 

☐I am a personal representative and the certified copy is required for the administration of the estate 

☐I am a successor of the subject as defined my MN statutes, section 524.1-201, and the subject is deceased 

☐I have documentation that the record is necessary for the determination or protection of personal or property rights (you must 

submit documentation showing this relationship) 

☐I represent an adoption agency and the record is needed to complete a confidential post-adoption search (you must include a 

copy of your employee ID) 

☐I am an attorney and I have attached proof of my licensure 

☐I am presenting your office with a court order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction (this must be a certified copy) 

☐I represent a local, state or federal governmental agency and the record is necessary for the governmental agency to perform its 

authorized duties (you must include a copy of your employee ID) 

☐I am a representative authorized by a person listed above (you must include a notarized statement from a person listed above) 
 

Signature and Notary (application must be signed in front of a notary if applying by mail or fax) 
I certify that the information provided on this application is accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge. 

Requester Signature 

 

Signed or attested before me on: day of , 20   
Notary Stamp/Seal 

Notary Public Signature 

My Commission Expires: 

 

PENALTIES: Any person who willfully and knowingly provides false information for a certified vital record may be sentenced up to 1 
year in jail or a fine of up to $3000 or both (Minnesota Statutes, section 144.227 and section 609.02, subdivision 3 and 4). 
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Requestor Name: 

 
 
 

Birth Certificate Application 

 

 

Fee and Payment Information 

 
 

Item 
Fee Per 

Item 

 

Total 

First Birth Certificate $26.00  

Additional Certificate(s) for this Birth Record requested at this time $19.00  

 
  First Class Mail 

First Class mail is the default mailing method if 

another mailing option is not selected.  

  

  $0.00 
 

 

Express Mail (Optional) 
Express or Priority mail is suggested for your 
valuable personal documents as it can be traced 
when mailed. Every effort will be made to 
process & ship the same business day the 
request is received but not guaranteed. 

 

$22.95 
 

 

Priority Mail (Optional) 

 

$6.45 
 

 Check 
$0.00  

 Credit Card-A $1.95 convenience fee is charged for credit card 
transactions. This will show on your statement as a separate charge. 

 
 
 
 
$1.95 

 

Name on Card: 

Card Number: 

Expiration Date: Billing Zip Code: 

 Total:  

Due to high administrative costs, we are unable to issue refunds for overpayment. 
Checks returned for non-payment will be charged a $30 fee according to Minnesota Statutes, section 604.113, 
subdivision 2 and civil penalties may be imposed. 

 

 
Send Application and Payment to: 

 

 
 

Mail application and check to: 

Clay County Recorder  
PO BOX 280 

807 11th St N 
Moorhead, MN 56560 

OR Fax application and credit card 

information to: 

866-908-2452 

 
 
 

Email: recorder@co.clay.mn.us 
218-299-5031 
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