MINNESOTA

Death Certificate Application

M DH The information requested on this application is required by Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 7
and Minnesota Rules, part 4601.2600. If you do not complete all fields, the application may be returned.

DEPARTMENT oF HEALTH

Death Record Information

FirstName Middle Name LastName
Date of Death Date of Birth or Age City and County of Death
Mother’'sName Father'sName Spouse on Record (if any)

Please check one of the following:
Cllwould like a death certificate with cause of death information
UlIwould like a death certificate without cause of death information (only available for records 1997 to present)

Requester Information

Name Date of Birth
Mailing Address - Street Apt/Unit# City State ZIP
DaytimePhone Email

What is your relationship to the subject of the record (tangible interest)? You must check one.

Ol am the child of the subject Ol am the parent of the subject Ol am the sibling of the subject
OJ1am the spouse on the record UJlam the grandparent of the subject CJ1am the grandchild of the subject
CJ1am the party responsible for filing the death record

UJlam a personal representative and the certified copy is required for the administration of the estate

UJlam a successor of the subject as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 524.1-201 and the certified copy is required for the
administration of the estate

[Jlam a trustee of a trust and the certified copy is required for the proper administration of the trust

CI1have documentation that the record is necessary for the determination or protection of personal or property rights (you must
submit documentation showing this relationship)

Ul represent an adoption agency and the record is needed to complete a confidential post-adoption search (you must include a
copy of your employee ID)

Ulam an attorney and | have attached proof of my licensure

UJlam presenting your office with a court order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction (this must be a certified copy)

Ol represent a local, state or federal governmental agency and the record is necessary for the governmental agency to perform its
authorized duties (you must include a copy of your employee ID)

UJlam a representative authorized by a person listed above (you must include a notarized statement from a person listed above)

Signature and Notary (application must be signed in front of a notary if applying by mail or fax)
| certify that the information provided on this application is accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge.

RequesterSignature

Signed or attested before me on: _ day of ,20_ Notary Stamp/Seal

Notary Public Signature

My Commission Expires:

PENALTIES: Any person who willfully and knowingly provides false information for a certified vital record may be sentenced up to 1
year in jail or a fine of up to $3000 or both (Minnesota- Statutes, section 144.227 and section 609.02, subdivision 3 and 4).
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MINNESOTA

DEPARTMENTOFHEALTH

Requestor Name:

Fee and Payment Information

Death Certificate Application

Fee Per

Item Total
Item
First Death Certificate $13.00
Additional Certificate(s) for this Death Record requested at this time $6.00
First Class Mail First Class mail is the default mailing method if
another mailing option is not selected. $0.00
) . Express or Priority mail is suggested for your
Express Mail (Optional) valuable personal documents as it can be traced | $22.95
when mailed. Every effort will be made to
Priority Mail (Optional) process & ship the same business day the $6.45
request is received but not guaranteed.
O Check $0.00
O Credit Card-A $1.95 convenience fee is charged for credit card
transactions. This will show on your statement as a separate charge.
Name on Card:
$1.95
Card Number:
Expiration Date: Billing Zip Code:
Total:

Due to high administrative costs, we are unable to issue refunds for overpayment.
Checks returned for non-payment will be charged a $30 fee according to Minnesota Statutes, section 604.113,

subdivision 2 and civil penalties may be imposed.

Send Application and Payment to:

Mail application and check to:
Clay County Recorder
PO BOX 280

807 11" St N
Moorhead, MN 56560

Email: recorder@co.clay.mn.us
218-299-5031
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OR Fax application and credit card

information to:
866-908-2452
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