
Vulnerable Adults

Reporting Suspected Maltreatment



Categorical Vulnerable Adult

• 18 years of age or older

• Resident or patient of a facility licensed by

MN Department of Human Services (DHS) 

or MN Department of Health (MDH)

• Receives services from an agency licensed 

by DHS or MDH

• Receives PCA or home care services



Functional Vulnerable Adult

• 18 years of age or older

• Possess a physical, mental or emotional 

dysfunction

• That impairs ability to provide adequately 

for own care without assistance

• And has an impaired ability to protect 

oneself from maltreatment



What is Maltreatment

• Abuse

• Neglect

• Financial Exploitation



Abuse

• Assault in first through fifth degrees

• Use of drugs to injure or facilitate crime

• Solicitation, inducement and promotion of 
prostitution

• Criminal sexual conduct

• Conduct which produces or could be 
expected to produce physical pain or 
emotional distress



Neglect

• Failure or omission by a caregiver to supply 
a vulnerable adult with care or services 
reasonable and necessary to obtain or 
maintain the vulnerable adult’s physical or 
mental health or safety.

• Neglect may be committed by a caregiver or 
by oneself.



Financial Exploitation

• With fiduciary obligation (conservator, 

power of attorney)

– Unauthorized use of funds which results in 

detriment to the vulnerable adult

– Failure to use vulnerable adult’s assets to 

provide for needs which is likely to result in 

detriment to the vulnerable adult.



Financial Exploitation cont.

• Without fiduciary obligation

– Willful use, withholding or disposal of a 
vulnerable adult’s assets

– Acquires control of a vulnerable adult’s assets 
through undue influence, harassment, duress, 
deception or fraud

– Forces, compels, coerces or entices a vulnerable 
adult to perform services for the advantage of 
another



Who is a Mandated Reporter

• A Professional or professional’s delegate while 

engaged in:

– Social Services

– Law Enforcement

– Education

– The care of vulnerable adult

– Any occupation referred to in section 214.01, subd.2

– An employee of a rehab. facility

– A person providing services in a facility.



Reporting Requirements

• A mandated reporter shall immediately

make an oral report to the Minnesota Adult 

Abuse Reporting Center (MAARC)

• A mandated reported may disclose not 

public data

• Reporting requirements may be met by an 

internal reporting procedure



Exemptions from Reporting

• Federal law that prohibits release of 
information without patient consent

• Resident to resident abuse or self abuse not 
causing serious harm

• Accidents as defined in statute

• Events in facilities that result from 
individual error in provision of therapeutic 
conduct



Penalty for Failure to Report

• If you are a mandated reporter and 

negligently or intentionally fair to report 

suspected maltreatment, you may be held 

liable for any damages or harm caused by 

your failure to report.

• Criminal charges for failing to report are 

possible.

• Loss of job



Minnesota Adult Abuse 

Reporting Center (MAARC)

• Toll free number for the general public is 

844-880-1574

• Website access for mandated reporters is 

mn.gov/dhs/reportadultabuse/

• State-wide common entry point available 

24/7



Confidentiality

• The identity of the reporter may not be 

released unless the reporter consents or by 

court order

• A facility or person is prohibited from 

retaliation against any person who reports in 

good faith



MAARC Dispatches Reports

• Minnesota Department of Human Services

• Office of Health Facility Complaints

• Local Law Enforcement

• Clay County Social Services



Investigation Process

• Receive report – screen to investigate or not

• Coordinate with law enforcement if necessary

• Check history for previous services, reports or 

police reports

• Contact reporter and collateral contacts

• Interview VA; refer for necessary services

• Interview alleged perpetrator

• Make determination



Final Dispositions

• Substantiated – preponderance of evidence 
shows maltreatment occurred

• False – preponderance of evidence shows 
maltreatment did not occur

• Inconclusive – less than preponderance of 
evidence to show that maltreatment did or 
did not occur

• No determination made



Penalties for Substantiated 

Maltreatment

• Loss of right to work in a facility or agency

• Loss or professional license

• Criminal penalties



Duties of County Adult 

Protection
• Assess and offer emergency and continuing 

protective social services to prevent further 
maltreatment

• Share all investigation information with DHS

• When necessary, remove the VA from the 
situation

• If needed, enter the facility to inspect and copy 
records needed for investigation



Potential Remedies

• Restraining order or court order for removal 

of  perpetrator from VA’s home

• Appointment of a guardian or conservator

• Replacement of a guardian or conservator

• Referral to County Attorney for criminal 

prosecution



Other Protective Measures

• Referral for in-home services and/or a 

program such as Alternative Care (AC) or a 

Medicaid waivered program such as CADI, 

EW, TBI, CAC

• Referral for case management

• Assistance in obtaining needed services, 

such as doctor appointment, credit 

counseling, food basket, etc.



For More Information

• MN DHS Website:  

http://www.mn.gov/dhs/

• MN Dept of Health Website: 

http://www.health.state.mn.us

• MN Statutes chapter 626.557: 

http://www.leg.state.mn.us/leg/statutes.asp

http://www.mn.gov/dhs/
http://www.health.state.mn.us/
http://www.leg.state.mn.us/leg/statutes.asp


Thank you for your interest

Kathy Nornes, LSW

Clay County Social Services

Adult Protection

218-299-7117

E-Mail:  kathy.nornes@co.clay.mn.us


