Minnesota Statute 287.21 provides for deed tax to be paid on deeds to be recorded. The rate is 0.0033 of the purchase price (Example: $105,250 X 0.0033 = $347.33 deed tax). The minimum deed tax amount is $1.65.
If 1 of the following statements appears on the deed, a Certificate of Real Estate Value (CRV) is not required to be filed with the deed:
"Total consideration is $500 or less."
"Total consideration is $1,000 or less."
Deed tax is paid to the Clay County Treasurer with 3% retained by the county and 97% submitted monthly to the State of Minnesota. For further information about recording real estate documents please visit the Clay County Recorder's website.