
Death Certificate Application 
The information requested on this application is required by Minnesota Statutes, section 
144.225, subdivision 7 and Minnesota Rules, part 4601.2600. If you do not complete all 
fields, the application may be returned. 

 
 

Death Record Information 
First Name Middle Name Last Name 

Date of Death Date of Birth or Age City and County of Death 

Mother’s Name Father’s Name Spouse on Record (if any) 

 

Please check one of the following: 
☐I would like a death certificate with cause of death information 
☐I would like a death certificate without cause of death information (only available for records 1997 to present) 

 

Requester Information 
Name Date of Birth 

Mailing Address - Street Apt/Unit # City State ZIP 

Daytime Phone Email 

 

What is your relationship to the subject of the record (tangible interest)? You must check one. 
 

   ☐I am the child of the subject 
       

           ☐I am the parent of the subject 
       

       ☐I am the sibling of the subject 
       ☐I am the spouse on the record ☐I am the grandparent of the subject ☐I am the grandchild of the subject 

☐I am the party responsible for filing the death record 
☐I am a personal representative and the certified copy is required for the administration of the estate 
☐I am a successor of the subject as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 524.1-201 and the certified copy is required for the 
administration of the estate 
☐I am a trustee of a trust and the certified copy is required for the proper administration of the trust 
☐I have documentation that the record is necessary for the determination or protection of personal or property rights (you must 
submit documentation showing this relationship) 
☐I represent an adoption agency and the record is needed to complete a confidential post-adoption search (you must include a 
copy of your employee ID) 
☐I am an attorney and I have attached proof of my licensure 
☐I am presenting your office with a court order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction (this must be a certified copy) 
☐I represent a local, state or federal governmental agency and the record is necessary for the governmental agency to perform its 
authorized duties (you must include a copy of your employee ID) 
☐I am a representative authorized by a person listed above (you must include a notarized statement from a person listed above) 

 
Signature and Notary (application must be signed in front of a notary if applying by mail or fax) 
I certify that the information provided on this application is accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge. 
Requester Signature 

 

Signed or attested before me on: _ day of , 20_   Notary Stamp/Seal 

Notary Public Signature 

My Commission Expires: 

 

PENALTIES: Any person who willfully and knowingly provides false information for a certified vital record may be sentenced up to 1 
year in jail or a fine of up to $3000 or both (Minnesota- Statutes, section 144.227 and section 609.02, subdivision 3 and 4). 
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Requestor Name: 

 
 
 

Death Certificate Application 

 

 
Fee and Payment Information 

 
 

Item Fee Per 
Item 

 

Total 

First Death Certificate $13.00  

Additional Certificate(s) for this Death Record requested at this time $6.00  

Non-Certified Death Certificate $13.00  
 

  First Class Mail First Class mail is the default mailing method if 
another mailing option is not selected.  

  
 $0.00 

 

 
 
Priority Mail (Optional) 

Priority mail is suggested for your valuable 
personal documents as it can be traced when 
mailed. Every effort will be made to process & 
ship the same business day the request is 
received but not guaranteed. 

 
 
$7.75 

 

 Check $0.00  

 Credit Card-A $1.95 convenience fee is charged for credit card 
transactions. This will show on your statement as a separate charge. 

 
 
 
 
$1.95 

 

Name on Card:   

Card Number:    PLEASE CALL OUR OFFICE WITH YOUR INFORMATION 
                        218-299-5031, SELECT “0” TO SKIP THE MAIN MENU 
 Expiration Date: Billing Zip Code: 

 Total:  
Due to high administrative costs, we are unable to issue refunds for overpayment. 
Checks returned for non-payment will be charged a $30 fee according to Minnesota Statutes, section 604.113, 
subdivision 2 and civil penalties may be imposed. 

 
 

Send Application and Payment to: 
 
 
 

Mail application and check to: 
Clay County Recorder 

PO BOX 280 
 807 11th St N 

Moorhead, MN 56560 

OR Fax application and credit card 
information to: 
866-908-2452 

 
 
 

Email: recorder@co.clay.mn.us 
218-299-5031 

 
 
 
 

Page 2 of 2 REV 02/2020 

mailto:recorder@co.clay.mn.us

	Please check one of the following:
	What is your relationship to the subject of the record (tangible interest)? You must check one.
	Signature and Notary (application must be signed in front of a notary if applying by mail or fax)
	Fee and Payment Information
	Send Application and Payment to:
	Clay County Recorder
	PO BOX 280
	807 11th St N Moorhead, MN 56560
	866-908-2452


