
  
  
  
  
  
CCEERRTTIIFFIICCAATTEE  OOFF  FFIILLIINNGG  
 

 
MINNESOTA STATUTE 517.04 PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM CIVIL MARRIAGES 

Civil marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court of record, a retired 

judge of a court of record, a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of the judicial district, a former court 
commissioner who is employed by the court system or is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, the residential 

school superintendent of the Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a licensed or ordained minister of any 

religious denomination, or by any mode recognized in section 517.18. For purposes of this section, a court of record includes the Office of Administrative 
Hearings under section 14.48. 

 

MINNESOTA STATUTE 517.05 CREDENTIALS OF MINISTER.  

Ministers of any religious denomination, before they are authorized to solemnize a civil marriage, shall file a copy of their credentials of license or ordination 

or, if their religious denomination does not issue credentials, authority from the minister's spiritual assembly, with the local registrar of a county in this state, 

who shall record the same and give a certificate of filing thereof. The place where the credentials are recorded shall be endorsed upon and recorded with each 
certificate of civil marriage granted by a minister. 
 
 

Choose One: 
 
____My authority to perform marriages has no expiration date. 
 
____My authority to perform marriages expires on ________________. 
 
 
 

Print name:  __________________________________ 
 

Address:  __________________________________ 
 
     __________________________________ 
 

Phone number:  __________________________________ 
 
Age _________________   Date of Birth ____________________ 
 

 
I, the undersigned, hereby declare under oath that I have read the above Minnesota State Statutes and confirm that 
I believe the attached document is in compliance with Minnesota Statute 517.05.  I declare under penalty of perjury 

that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct.  Minn. Stat. sec 358.116. 
 
 
Dated: ______________________   X___________________________________  

             (Signature of Officiant) 
 
___________________________ 
County and State where signed 
 

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/517.18
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.48


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Officiant Name: ___________________________________________________________________ 
 

**Include a letter of good standing or a copy of your credentials/ordination certificate. 
 

Item Fee Per 
Item 

 

Total 

Certificate of Filing      

 

$20.00  

 Credit Card-A $1.95 convenience fee is charged for credit card transactions. This will 
show on your statement as a separate charge. 

$1.95  

  Name on Card:     
 
 
 

 

 

  Card Number:    PLEASE CALL OUR OFFICE WITH YOUR INFORMATION AFTER SUBMITTING YOUR 
REQUEST 218-299-5031,  SELECT “0” TO SKIP MENU 

Expiration Date:                          Billing Zip Code: 

 Total:  

 

 

Due to high administrative costs, we are unable to issue refunds for overpayment. 

Checks returned for non-payment will be charged a $30 fee according to Minnesota Statutes, section 604.113, subdivision 2 and 
civil penalties may be imposed. 

 
 

Send Certificate of Filing, credentials or letter of good standing and payment to: 
  
 Clay County Recorder 
 807 11th St N 
 Moorhead, MN  56560 
 
 Or 
 
Fax/E-mail certificate of filing to: 
 
 866-908-2452 (Fax) 
 recorder@co.clay.mn.us 
 
 

If you have questions, please contact us at recorder@co.clay.mn.us or call 218-299-5031. 
 

Certificate of Filing will be filed and returned to the address provided. 
 


