Extension Committee

The Minnesota State Legislature established County Extension Committees in 1923. Each county committee consists of nine members, including two of the County Board, the County Auditor or designee, and six county residents appointed. Members serve three-year terms and can elect to serve a second term. Members are also asked to attend four meetings per year with mileage and per diem paid for.

Roles & Responsibilities of committee members:

  • Identify local community needs and Extension resources,
  • Provide Extension Program support and advocacy,
  • Assist in the development of an annual County Extension budget request

The Clay County Board of Commissioners is seeking three (3) applicants for appointment to vacancies on the Clay County Extension Committee. Please Click Here (PDF) for directions on how to apply.