Highway Department

The highway system under the jurisdiction of Clay County is composed of 396 miles of county state aid highways, 347 miles of county roads, and 876 miles of township roads for a grand total of 1,619 miles.

Of these 1,619 miles, 1,342 miles are of gravel surfacing with the remainder bituminous surfaced. Clay County is responsible for the repair and maintenance of 335 structures on the state inventory list.

2019 Highway Staff

The Clay County Highway Department is located in south Moorhead with an office, shop and storage complex. There are 7 outlying shops within the county located in the following cities:

  • Barnesville
  • Comstock
  • Felton
  • Georgetown
  • Glyndon
  • Hawley
  • Ulen


The Clay County Highway Department has a total crew of 36 and is composed of:

  • 1 Accountant
  • 1 Office Manager
  • 1 Clerical Staff
  • 1 Diesel Mechanic
  • 1 Maintenance Foreman
  • 1 Shop Foreman
  • 1 Registered Assistant County Engineer
  • 1 Registered County Engineer
  • 1 Sign Foreman
  • 5 Engineering Technicians
  • 5 Part-Time Snow Plow Operators
  • 6 Truck Drivers
  • 11 Motor Grader Operators

There are generally 13 temporary employees hired during the summer months.

Mission Statement

The main objective of the Clay County Highway Department is the construction and maintenance of county highways and bridges, county state aid highways and bridges and township roads and bridges. The goal of the Highway Department is to ensure that the roadways and bridge structures in Clay County are designed according to federal and state guidelines, constructed according to the contract specifications and properly maintained to ensure the safety of the traveling public.